Friday, October 5, 2012

Gilmore, Theriault join Maine Land Use Planning Commission

  AUGUSTA – Two new commissioners have been sworn in as members of the Maine Land Use Planning Commission.
  William K. Gilmore of Freeman Township and Michael Theriault of Greenville recently took their oath of office as members of the commission, known previously as the Land Use Regulation Commission (LURC). They began their official duties immediately.

  Gilmore, who will serve until July 2016, has been employed for the past 27 years with the town of Carrabassett Valley as its tax assessor, code enforcement officer and plumbing inspector. He also served as town manager for 10 of those years. He now is involved with the Franklin County Tax Increment Financing (TIF) committee and has been very active for many years in the growth and planning for Kingfield. He has lived his entire life in the western mountains of Maine.
  Theriault, who also will serve until July 2016, has owned and operated his own business, Mike Theriault Construction LLC, since 1996. He also has had extensive experience in land procurement and development as a timberlands owner and manager. He has served on the Greenville Board of Selectmen and is an elected board member of the Greenville School Committee. He attended Unity College
  “We look forward to the representation by our new commissioners of important, diverse interests,” said ACF Commissioner Walter Whitcomb. “It’s another step in bringing people who represent the unorganized territories onto the Commission.”
  The Maine Land Use Planning Commission serves as the planning and zoning authority for the unorganized and deorganized areas of the state, including townships and plantations. The Commission’s jurisdiction covers over half the state, encompassing more than 10.4 million acres.  
The LUPC is a seven-member, independent board with members nominated by the Governor to staggered, four-year terms. In December, Commission membership will expand to nine, with Aroostook and Piscataquis counties each having an opportunity to nominate an individual to serve on the Commission. This will begin a four-year transition period after which the Commission will consist of eight members nominated by each of the eight counties with the most acreage within the Commission's jurisdiction and one member nominated by the governor.



No comments:

Post a Comment